According to FDOT (Florida Department Of Transportation), auto insurance coverage is compulsory. Make sure you have the insurance ID card with you whenever you drive on the territory of the state, as you can be fined if you are pulled over and you are not able to prove coverage.
We all must have auto insurance, not only because there’s a law that asks for it, but also because it is really necessary in case of an accident, whether it happens from our fault or not. It is quite difficult to choose the best car insurance in Florida, due to the fact that there are so many companies that offer insurance services.
If you are searching for insurance over the internet, you have to consider the fact that there are insurance companies that do not offer their services to inhabitants from all the areas of Florida, so read carefully, for saving your time.
If you have just moved to Florida, you should know that auto insurance coverage requirement may be different from the ones in the state you moved from, because every state of the US is free to establish its own requirements.
What do you have to consider when choosing insurance coverage?
Here you have some information regarding coverage requirements in Florida and most common choices that other people have made, in order to make it easier for you to figure out what to look for:
- Bodily Injury Liability – Usually varies between $100.000 - $300.000 (not specified by law);
- Property Damage Liability – at least $10.000 (required by law);
- Uninsured motorist Bodily Injury - $10.000 per person, $20.000 per accident (required by law);
- Medical Payments – $5.000 (very common, not specified by law);
- Collision - $500 deductible (very common, not specified by law)
- Comprehensive - $250 deductible (very common, not specified by law)
- Personal Protection Insurance - $10.000 medical & loss of service; $5.000 funeral services (specified by law);
- Personal Injury Protection – $10.000 (required by law).
How do you choose an insurance company?
First of all, you have to make sure that the company you choose is serious. Do not let yourself tricked by very small prices, because you may end up paying for nothing. It is advisable to choose a well-known insurance company. This way, you can be sure about its seriousness.
How old are you?
Your age may influence the price of the insurance, so read more about coverage requirements if you are either a teenager or a senior.
There are some very strict laws concerning teen driving in Florida. One can drive from the age of fifteen, but driving during the night is forbidden and youngest drivers must be accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 during the first 90 days since they have gotten the learner’s permit. These restrictions are lifted when the driver turns 18.
All these being said, all you have to do is look for a serious insurance company. Try to get discounts if you can, pay for the new policy before the old one expires and do not break the law! Auto owner Florida can find more info here